Days of Gray

LIVE score by Icelandic band Hjaltalín

It is a world without language. A world where one is raised to respect the rules. Every possession is strictly utilitarian. All must wear masks when venturing from home. Men must protect society from outsiders who do not follow the rules. Faith is dead. Hope is dead. Joy is dead.

Only one boy (Davíð Laufdal Arnarsson) questions the verity of what he has been taught. He scavenges for lost objects from distant times, he shares warmth with his younger Sister (Viktoría Rós Antonsdóttir), and he dares to befriend an outsider - the Girl (Diljá Valsdóttir).

The Boy knows it is only a matter of time before he must become a hunter like his father, eliminating outsiders. He must decide whether to continue living in a society of fear or choose his own destiny.

The Icelandic-Amercian silent film Days of Gray by Ani Simon-Kennedy is a timeless tale set to an original score by Icelandic band Hjaltalín.

Though their music is hard to characterize, it has attracted a large and diverse audience in their homeland of Iceland and in Europe. Even their own website acknowledges, with seven members, it's difficult to know whether to call them a small orchestra or a mutated and overgrown rock band. Hjaltalin's score for Days of Gray captures the grandeur of their previous work and was nominated for 'Best Music' at the Icelandic Film Awards (The Eddas) in 2012 even before it's release. An unique film- and music experience that should not be missed.

This is playful, frisky music that sounds like an endless summer night among friends, sliding from euphoria to melancholy and back again, lush with longing and promise. If the richness at times threatens to overwhelm, then the singing of Hogni Egilsson provides the grit that produces the pearl. - The Guardian

Strangely beautiful orchestral pop. - Time Out

Vocals are stunning, instrumentation is awesome. Joyous and gentle. Big colorful band to fall in love with. Soul, classical. Classoul. - Huw Stephens, BBC Radio

Organised by the CCR Neumünster in collaboration with Discovery Zone, Luxembourg City Film Festival.

Axel Haraldsson - Drums
Guðmundur Óskar Guðmundsson - Bass
Hjörtur Ingvi Jóhannsson - Keyboards
Högni Egilsson - Vocals & guitar
Rebekka Bryndís Björnsdóttir - Bassoon
Sigríður Thorlacius - Vocals
Viktor Orri Árnason - Violin

Boy - Davíð Laufdal Arnarsson
Girl - Diljá Valsdóttir
Sister - Viktoría Rós Antonsdóttir
Father - Guðmundur Ingi Þorvaldsson
Mother - Bryndís Petra Bragadóttir
Grandmother - Margrét Helga Jóhannsdóttir

Directed by Ani Simon-Kennedy
Written by - Hrafn Jónsson, Ani Simon-Kennedy & Cailin Yatsko
Produced by - Alice Bloch, Ani Simon-Kennedy & Cailin Yatsko
Executive Producers - Kjartan Thor Thordarson & Kristinn Thordarson
Associate Producer - Kira Simon-Kennedy
1st Assistant Director - Arnar Sigurðsson
Production Designer - Nell Tivnan
Costume Designer - Christian Kierulf Praksti
Cinematographer - Cailin Yatsko
Editor - Perry Blackshear
Sound Design - Luciano Vignola & Sara Stern
Original Music by Hjaltalín

Days of Gray - Official Trailer from Bicephaly Pictures on Vimeo.